Fall Sensations: Sight

This week is peak color-change week in the North Georgia Mountains. I know this, because I read it about five times in the fifteen minutes I perused Facebook this afternoon. That means that one of the most glorious sites of Autumn has arrived – the leaf change, bringing with it my favorite color palette.

But there’s so much more to see and take in during Fall. It’s not all about the leaves!  Just last week, we were entreated to the glow of jack-o-lanterns. Kids and pets (and adults) took to the streets in the greatest of costumes, and I love looking at those pictures and seeing the creativity.

Mums of many varieties are blooming! I have a patch of white ones in my back yard, and then two other types potted around my property. They make for beautiful late-year color.

And with the cooling weather, comes a rare sighting in these parts – the migration of the Monarch Butterflies as they lopingly make their way South, only occasionally making pit stops here in the North Georgia Mountains.  I’ve seen three so far this year, and they’ve been a treat to behold!

Autumn brings the return of crackling outdoor fires, lighting up the darkness of an early dusk.

And don’t forget that Thanksgiving spread! The food not only smells and tastes delicious, it looks so very inviting and comforting.

And of course, as the color fades from the forests and the leaves slowly flutter to the ground, a new vista emerges. The mountains, hidden for most of the year, become visible once more.

Take a moment and visualize your perfect fall day. What sorts of things do you see and take comfort in?

Leave a comment